I just received another rejection letter. But it was a fairly detailed one and gives me something specific to work on with my book. Here it is:

***

Dear Kelly,

Thank you so much for sending me the additional material of this project for further consideration. I am sorry for the delay in getting back to you on this one. I appreciate the patience.

After having a chance to look over this project, I am afraid I am going to pass on this project. I will say, it is refreshing to see someone trying something new with this genre. With that said, I just didn’t feel the story had the depth of character development in the early pages to really draw me into the story. In many ways, I felt on the outside looking in.

I do want to wish you all the best with your writing and thank you again for giving me the chance to read this.

***

Not too shabby, as far as rejections go.

So, grudgingly, I’m diving back into my manuscript for even more revisions. Go me!

But I just learned something about one of my favorite authors that I will somehow work into a mantra for motivation: Meg Cabot (author of The Princess Diaries and many, many more) spent three years sending out queries before she got an agent and another year before that agent found a publisher. Meg was thirty at the time. Now she has dozens of books published.

This is good because a) I’m not quite thirty – just a handful of months to go, though, and b) I’ve only been querying for about a year.

So even though I totally want to cry (or die) of frustration, I’m going to press on. Wish me luck!

