This weather in Colorado (which is totally the coldest I’ve ever experienced) is making me rethink a dream I have.

There are two things that you should know about me if you don’t already: someday I WILL live by the ocean and I HATE hot weather.

So, I thought, what better place for me than Alaska? I was so convinced of this years ago that I made a small town in that state the setting to my novel, THAW. Well, my town (Putnam) is loosely based on this other, real town – Cordova:

I know, right? Is it just the most beautiful place you’ve ever seen? I’m totally a clouded-over-day-with-cold-temperatures kind of girl and I was thrilled to be researching about this place because at times I felt I was really living there. Fishing for salmon, hiking the many trails, enjoying the temperatures that don’t usually climb past sixty in the summer time.

But now that Pueblo has been so cold the last few days, I’m wondering, Could I handle this weather ALL the time?

Maybe.

If it looked like this. Pueblo, on the other hand, does not. And there is no way that I’d be able to see moose and whales and seals and a gazillion beautiful birds here like I would there. I wouldn’t be able to scale a glacier (which is one of my other dreams) or know what it felt like to be so cut-off from “reality.”

See, Cordova is cut-off from the Alaskan road system. The only way out of town is by air or water. Yeah, you can drive around town, but there is no road to the interior. How cool is that! Plus, it is in the more southern part of Alaska, so maybe it wouldn’t be that cold all the time.

Looking it up, I found that the high today in Cordova is 33 and the low is 16. That’s warmer than it is here! To top that all off, I’d get all the rain and moisture in the air that I LOVE with the 89% humidity.

The record lows, historically, that I looked up for Cordova were -13 and -23. But these only happened once, about fifty years ago. Most of the record lows were like 20 degrees.

Not too bad.

The record lows for Pueblo are mostly in the negatives, so really, moving to Cordova wouldn’t only be prettier, but also warmer, without going over sixty degrees too often. Pueblo highs are well past 100. After seventy, I get migraines, so it all works out!

I mean, really, what more is there to say?

North! To Alaska!

