I’ve been renting television series DVDs from the library. The first one I think that I ever got was Northern Exposure.

I never did watch it when it came on television and when I started watching it, I instantly fell in love with the characters and the town. This series helped me choose my setting for my first novel. (Set in a small town in Alaska).

Then my husband got into some that I didn’t: Stargate Atlantis (or whatever it’s called), The Unit and a couple of others I can’t recall. I didn’t really enjoy any of them.

Recently, I’ve been watching How I Met Your Mother:

And I died laughing. In a lot of ways, it reminds me of Northern Exposure. Ted is A LOT like Dr. Fleishman…

 

…in that they are both equally whiney but endearing in their sweetness.

But now I decided to get some others I’ve heard about. I’ve tried to watch The Office on TV and usually it annoys me so bad I turn it within the first ten seconds, but then I thought, What if this is like How I Met Your Mother and it has hidden jokes that one would only pick up on if they watched the thing from the beginning?

So I got it. And one called The Big Bang Theory that got major good reviews.

And while I was at the library, I decided I need to pick up some more books to add to the growing pile next to my bed. These are just the ones I got today:

As a former teacher, I feel ashamed that there are so many classics out there that I haven’t read. But I HATE most of them. How horrible. I can’t stand the old language and stiff characters (in my VERY humble opinion) and I’d much rather read something fresh, new and funny.

But I saw Anne Frank: The Diary of a Young Girl so I picked that up and will force myself to read at least a third of it. Pride and Prejudice and Zombies also caught my eye and I figured that HAD to be close enough to the original so I picked that up too.

Of course, I had to pick up a couple more Meg Cabot books because she has millions and she is fantastic and then one SCI-FI one about the something hitting the moon and pushing it closer to earth.

We’ll see how it goes! More later…

