I’m nearly finished with my fourth draft of my book. I’m so sick of the thing that I could throw up on it. (But I’ve read other authors who feel the very same way and said that it in no way implies that my book isn’t good or worthy of publishing.)

I’ve changed my point of view from 1st person “I” to 3rd person limited “she” and played with changing the title. But after a vote I kept the original. After nearly three years of working on the book, I’ve decided to change the end so that there will not be a sequel and in turn made it a much stronger ending. But now I’m rethinking the first couple of chapters.

They are just so…cliché.

The premise of my book is such an original one – there is NOTHING out there like it. (Which makes me nervous for a different reason.) But I seem to be gumming it up with cliché after cliché. An outcast girl’s first day of school. Her best friend moves away. A new – albeit very cute – boy moves into town. She makes new friends.

Cliché. Cliché. Cliché.

So, my question of the day is…when does a writer know when to quit? No, I don’t mean give up. I don’t mean that it’s too hard and I want to stop working on it. I’m sure if I don’t get it published soon I will work on it for the rest of my life. But when does a writer know to cut her losses and move on to a new project?

Is my idea just TOO out there? And am I totally botching it up?

Well – for at least today – I will work on it, cutting it up. Wish me luck!

